What’s with the line?: The best of SF’s bakeries

Anyone that has walked past one of San Francisco’s more popular bakeries will tell you, San Franciscans are willing to wait in line for their favorite bakeries. Tartine, B Patisserie, Mr. Holmes Bakehouse, even Golden Gate Bakery in Chinatown (when they are open) all seem to have lines at any hour of the day.

Mr. Holmes Line

Typical line at Mr. Holmes Bakehouse

I’m not one for waiting in line in my own city, but in the name of research, I recently started waiting in line at these places to see if these places were worthy of the hype, and resulting line. I’ll fill you in on the wait, the vibe of the place, and whether or not it lives up to the hype.To make sure none of my readers leaves disappointed, I’ve listed the bakery’s signature item and also what to order should they run out of the first item.

I’m also going to list some more “under-the-radar” places with the signature and backup items listed as well. If you have any suggestions on places we need to know about, please drop me a line and I’ll make it there!

Leave a Reply

