Over-rated in SF

Man, I read a lot of guidebooks, Best of Lists and such, and I often get sucked into believing the hype and trying places only to be disappointed. Maybe it’s just me, but here are some of the places that I think are over-rated. I welcome any comments, disagreements or hostile replies.

Taqueria Pancho Villa: Scrupulously clean and perfectly tasteless Mexican food on 16th near Valencia.

Citizen Cake: Blasphemy to most local foodies, but except the Shag cake, I don’t like much here.

Miette Bakery: Looks great, tastes…ehhh.

Memphis Minnie’s: Another bay Area Foodie Favorite that I just don’t get. Meats are just so-so, hate the sauces, mediocre sides. Not my favirite barbecue, as you can tell.

House of Nanking: If you see me eating here, they are giving away free food, and I haven’t eaten in a week.

Leave a Reply

